shopping-bag 0
Items : 0
Subtotal : £0.00
View Cart Check Out

Single Blog Title

This is a single blog caption

Bracknell Bees accepted to National League South 1

Following the NIHL South section meeting on Sunday 7th May, the EIHA is pleased to announce that the format for 17/18 season has been agreed after more than 6 hours of discussions.

The applications from former EPIHL sides Basingstoke Bison, Bracknell Bees, Peterborough Phantoms and Swindon Wildcats were accepted and they take the place in NIHL South 1 next season.

In total there will be 12 teams in Division 1, split into two conferences of six teams.

Conference A
Basingstoke Bison
Bracknell Bees
Cardiff Fire
Milton Keynes Thunder
Oxford City Stars
Solent Devils

Conference B
Chelmsford Chieftains
Invicta Dynamos
London Raiders
Peterborough Phantoms
Streatham IHC
Swindon Wildcats

Teams will play others in the own conference twice home and away, and teams out of conference once home and once away.

There will also be an NIHL S1 Cup with two groups.

Group A
Chelmsford Chieftains
Invicta Dynamos
Streatham IHC
London Raiders

Group B
Basingstoke Bison
Bracknell Bees
Peterborough Phantoms
Swindon Wildcats

The initial stage of the Cup will have one home and one away against the others in their group.

NIHL South Division 2 reverts to a single division of 13 teams, playing one home and one away.  Discussions on a NIHL S2 Cup will continue.

Basingstoke Buffalo
Bristol Pitbulls
Bracknell Hornets
Cardiff Fire 2
Chelmsford Warriors
Guildford Phoenix
Invicta Mustangs
Lee Valley Lions
Oxford NIHL 2
Peterborough Phantoms 2
Slough Jets
Swindon Wildcats 2

The meeting also agreed that all NIHL South games ending in a draw after 60 minutes will go to five minutes of 3 on 3 overtime and penalty shots if required.

The NIHL season will begin on weekend of 2/3 September and is scheduled to end 7/8 April.

The issue of post season play will be discussed wider following the NIHL North section meeting which is now scheduled for next weekend.

NIHL South League Manager Richard Carpenter said:
“It was a long day, a difficult meeting but we’ve reached agreement on the way forward for next season and beyond.   There are no perfect answers or deals to such a highly complicated situation but we would like to thank all teams involved for reaching a deal today to the betterment of British ice hockey.”

He summed up by saying:
“There are wider whole-NIHL issues which will be discussed after the North section next week, but we’re pleased to have carried out this task of integrating the former EPIHL clubs into the NIHL Structure and agreed a format.”

The Bracknell Bees would like to take this opportunity to thank their fans, sponsors, partners and players for all of their continued patience and support during the last few weeks.   We are looking forward to the new challenges ahead in the NIHL South 1 and will bring you all the relevant information for the upcoming season, such as ticket & season ticket prices, player signings, sponsorship & partner agreements, fixtures etc… as and when details are finalised over the upcoming weeks.

We would also like to thank the NIHL South member teams and the EIHA for acceptance into the league and the constructive way all those involved have met the challenges head on in forming this new league structure.

Please keep an eye on our official website ( and our official social media platforms: Twitter (, Facebook ( and Instagram ( for all the latest on the new and exciting upcoming 2017/18 NIHL South 1 season.

Leave a Reply